Skip to content

How Old Are The Eggs You Buy. I Had No Idea!

October 1, 2016

Eggs

I have a problem with expiration dates. I follow them like they are a law set in stone. I know some of them are sell by dates, not expirations, but I can’t help it. I’ve been getting a little better but not much. If I do eat anything past the marked date I worry about food poisoning. Does that make me crazy? Hubbs says so. This video from J&J Acres has given me a lot to think about when it comes to eggs and their expiration/sell by dates. Be warned…;this might force you to change some things in your life.

Are the eggs you are buying off the shelf as fresh as you think they are? Just because they say organic or farm fresh on the packing doesn’t mean a whole lot. Did you know that eggs can sit on the shelf for anywhere from 30-45 days? Ahhh! And this video proves it. I no idea what Julian codes were or how they were used to determine freshness until watching this video. I’m going to have to pay attention from now on or buy and support local!

I bet this is one reason that backyard chicken coops are becoming so popular. I don’t want chickens in my yard but I can’t say that I wouldn’t mind the fresh eggs. Eggs bought. Check. Still good? Be sure to use this trick at home to determine if they still are.

Here’s the video…; Enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.